New Year New Shows

Posted on Updated on

IMG_6133

As I sit here wondering how to get more people to see my hand-made work, I then think “I should really be MAKING more jewelry”!  Sometimes I wonder how, what, why I do this?? There is that constant struggle between being a stay-at-home-mom and creating art and jewelry to sell!  There is only so much time in the day, sometimes it seems like I have a lot of time but then it’s 9pm and I am just “getting to work”.

The balance between creating and selling hand-made wavers between me being the maker and marketer of my work!  I truly do love making but often marketing is where the seesaw hits the dirt for me!  Facebook used to be great for exposure but lately it seems less people see the posts and photos I add to my Business page, Sunshine On Water.  A few years ago that was not the case because everyone who had “liked” my page had access to a post if they happened to be on FB at the time.  Oh, so nice!!  Now it seems anyone who has “liked” my business page much hover over my page, then scroll down and click on “Get Notifications”  in order to see any new posts I add…therefore the reach is much smaller hence less people see my latest jewelry.  Ok, I just explained what to do but yes, this does involve a little work!

There is that option, of course, for business pages to pay for “boosts”, I haven’t done this but I do wonder how well it works?

Now it’s time to stop thinking and start doing… making jewelry that is. I have my first show of the year this coming Saturday and I am really looking forward to it!  If you’re in the Rochester, NY area and free on Saturday, come on over to Schroeder High School in Webster for Community Arts Day! It’s a fun event showcasing the many talents in Webster from Elementary School art students to hand-made artists in the community, like me!  This will be my 4th year at this event and it’s always a lot of fun!! Sharing my creations with others in the community is what it’s all about!

Below is all the info you need on Webster Community Arts Day… I hope to see you there!

Saturday April 11th, 2015
Schroeder High School- Ridge Road, Webster, NY
Time: 10:00-4:00
P1520745
8 thoughts on “New Year New Shows

    josh said:
    April 9, 2015 at 3:08 am

    Hopefully I will see you there. Maybe I can bring two little rug rats with me!) you’re doing a great job, keep it up.

    Deb said:
    April 9, 2015 at 3:28 am

    I completely understand the challenge of making vs. marketing. It is one of those things I think all hand-makers face. A similar situation inspired me to start my latest project, it hit on line just a week or so ago, where it is a site designed to create a community of hand makers so we can present ourselves together. It is for Canadians, but if you like, take a look at it. You might be able to create something like it even for your state or county. The site is http://www.handmade-canada.com . I am just in the process of inviting creative people, but once it starts to grow it should be a great project. I thought I would mention it as you may want to organize something similar yourself.

      Sunshine On Water responded:
      April 9, 2015 at 1:31 pm

      What a wonderful idea Deb!! It is difficult for pure hand-made artists to get seen in the present market. There is so much “crap” out there which saturates the market, it really is hard to stand out among it all! This is frustrating and I wonder what to do about it, etsy is familiar to so many people but again it is hard to stand out. The topic of starting something has come up but what’s involved holds us back. I think it’s great what you are doing! Will participating artists sell here or is it a site to get their name out there??
      Have a great day!

        Deb said:
        April 9, 2015 at 4:32 pm

        The concept is just to get their names out for now. The concept should create some great crossover business among the different disciplines too. I toyed with a selling site, but I didn’t want to get into the “nickel and dime” situation it creates; I wanted to remain on the side of the handmaker. If we can really grow the site we have some event concepts in mind. Even to get to this point it has taken a ton of work, but I feel it is worth it.

        Sunshine On Water responded:
        April 10, 2015 at 1:59 pm

        I think it’s a great idea Deb! Keep up the good work! I am sure your artists will love becoming part of the venture to spread the word about their hand-made work!
        Betsy

    Rochester Artisans said:
    April 9, 2015 at 12:18 pm

    (Awww, loved Josh’s love note!) Meanwhile, I added this show with your link to our Shows page, Betsy! http://rochesterartisans.com/shows/

      Sunshine On Water responded:
      April 9, 2015 at 1:20 pm

      Wonderful, thank you Stefani! Yes, I do have a sweet husband! 😉

Leave a Reply

