Life is like a see-saw, enjoy the “mom moments”

Posted on Updated on

I am a stay at home mom, I am other things but that is what I am right now and it is crazy!!! I realized the other day that there is just not enough time to do everything, I always knew it but just never completely realized it, I guess!  Between kids and a small business it is crazy to balance both.  Its like a see-saw, one side is always tipping more than the other and right now there might as well be an elephant sitting on the mom side!!  Between Halloween costumes, Halloween events, softball lessons, helping with homework for one child and trying to keep up with the other who is in preschool, there is barely enough time to rake our yard which is covered in Maple leaves and last but not least make jewelry for upcoming shows!!!  Whew!  I try, I really try to keep up the explosion of Halloween candy strewn across the floor, dishes in the sink and the laundry that needs to be folded but come on, just because I am a stay at home mom doesn’t mean I love to clean OR do laundry all day!!  I would much rather be making new jewelry, updating my etsy shop or finding new retail boutiques to carry my work!!

Working moms, I have no idea how you fit it all in when you get home, I AM home and barely have time… I guess part of it is about staying organized to avoid a total meltdown!  I would love to make 10 rings a day but in reality that is not happening at this moment!  I have a boy to get to preschool and a lunch period to cover at my daughters school, if I get a half hour in at the gym I will be happy!!  Someday, I know that see-saw will balance out a little more and I will have more time to myself. Then most likely at some point it will tip up so high I will start to miss my kids!  SO for now, I will enjoy these “mom moments” because they don’t last forever, do they?!

P1470676

If you would like to check out my hand-made jewelry, you can do so at my etsy shop, Sunshine On Water!

Have a great day~ Betsy

One thought on “Life is like a see-saw, enjoy the “mom moments”

    Deb said:
    November 5, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    I completely hear you. Funnily with my first two children I worked outside the home and ran a business from home and it was easier. When the kids were not at home during the day they didn’t mess it up to the same degree, so there was far less housework. I would come home at lunch from “work” and sneak in 45 minutes of solid uninterrupted time on my business. The concept of “mom works” was in their mindset so I could also work in the evenings. Now when I work from home all the time everyone thinks all you have is “free time” and what could I possibly be doing. This is becoming a “situation” in our home. I can relate to your post completely.

Leave a Reply

