My 100th sale on etsy!

Posted on Updated on

I finally made it!!   One week ago I had my 100th sale on etsy!  It took awhile but I made it and am proud I persevered as a seller on etsy!  Four years ago, I opened an etsy shop under another name.  I didn’t list anything but at least I had opened a shop.  I’ll admit, I had no idea what I was doing.  Looking back, my pictures were horrible, my titles were short and I only used about 4 out of the 13 tags allowed when listing an item for sale.  Tags are what help you get found in online search….the more tags you use the more chances you have of getting found!  How could I have only use 4 tags?  The only possible answer is, I just didn’t know!  I had NO idea. I had no boss or adviser teaching me, guiding me or giving me constructive criticism, it was just me.

P1450996

Since 2010, I have changed my etsy shop name 2 times.  I am finally happy with Sunshine On Water, it fits me and my jewelry.  Knowing that I have a much more cohesive look between my shop and my work is important.  It’s still a learning process though which I think is good thing because what works today might not in a month!

P1360525

On occasion, I have had people ask how I like etsy, what works & what doesn’t…. in general, etsy is a great place for people to see your work. I think of it as an online portfolio where people I meet can reference my work, look on their own time and maybe (hopefully) by something.  They may even become a loyal customer!

Since my 100th sale, I have thought a lot about my work and how to best describe it on etsy.  At craft shows I am there interacting with customers, on etsy that’s not the case…. hence the etsy “About” section.  “About” is a section each shop can choose to include for etsy viewers to read. It gives insight on the artist and the product they make.  Today I finally reworked my “About” section to better reflect me and my work!  You can read it  here and let me know what you think!

Happy Friday!   ~  Betsy  ~

7 thoughts on “My 100th sale on etsy!

    Erin Gursslin said:
    October 25, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    Really enjoyed reading your newsletter. Congrats on your 100th sale!

    Erin Gursslin http://www.sunshynesilverwear.com

    >

      petunia106 responded:
      October 25, 2014 at 2:48 pm

      Thanks Erin! Artists like you have inspired me from the beginning to persevere! Have a good weekend.
      ~ Betsy

    Michelle Proulx said:
    October 25, 2014 at 2:27 pm

    Congrats on your 100th sale! Huge milestone 🙂

      petunia106 responded:
      October 25, 2014 at 2:47 pm

      Thank you Michelle!

    hyotoko25 said:
    October 28, 2014 at 10:06 am

    Congrats- it’s fun making things but even more touching when your making something for someone else!

    Studio44Mauritius said:
    March 11, 2015 at 1:36 pm

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

