My intrigue with Old Houses

Posted on Updated on

What is it about old houses?  They intrigue me!  I wonder who lived in them and what their lives were like?  The house I grew up in is very old with an old back part to the main basement complete with dirt floor and rock foundation.  At one point my sister and I found faded writing almost like a journal entry, saying something along the lines of “the weather today is….”  on back side of the door facing into the old basement.  We were sure it was used for the Underground Railroad!  No proof, just our theory.  The house my husband grew up in is even older and very beautiful but very rustic (complete with big support timbers and plank floors) in Southern Maine.

Old houses have been part of my life and even today I am drawn to them… their character.   Now when I drive around the more rural areas of Upstate New York, I keep my eyes open for old, “spooky” houses.  Here are a few of my favorites.  I know nothing about them in regards to their history or owners, other than they drew my atten

P1400930  P1400929

P1400924    P1400920

And last but not least, an amazing find in the Southern Adirondack Mountains….

P1450491                P1450502

Maybe I should call them charming rather than spooky, after all, each is unique in their own way.  I appreciate that simple beauty.  I think I try to incorporate that aspect into the jewelry and art I create.

So why spooky houses?  What inspired me?
To be honest, my inspiration for this was reading “Little House on the Prairie” to my daughter (we just finished reading it tonight)! The last chapter is titled “Going Out.” The Ingalls family decides to leave their log house that they had lived in for 1 year. They load up their wagon with all their belongings and ride out (and away).   One line states that they stopped and looked back at the house one last time.  I guess a house really isn’t a home without a family living in it anyway!

Betsy ~ Sunshine On Water on etsy.com:

https://www.etsy.com/shop/SunshineOnWater

2 thoughts on “My intrigue with Old Houses

    Deb said:
    February 14, 2014 at 7:23 am

    Years ago I went out searching for my great grandmother’s farm house with some sketchy directions from my dad and found it. It was so interesting to look through an abandoned house where an ancestor had lived. Recently I tried to find it and either it is gone or the road system has changed as the landmarks seem different. Out by our cabin there is an abandoned church and it is really interesting, your post is making me think I should share some of the pictures I took of it last summer. Thanks for making me think of that again.

      petunia106 responded:
      February 14, 2014 at 1:09 pm

      That’s great that you were able to find your great grandmas house at one time! I love stories like that and families connecting with the past. I am glad my story has sparked your interest too!
      Betsy

Leave a Reply

