Display ideas for Arts and Craft shows

Posted on Updated on

I have been busy working on new earring designs and adding inventory to my depleted stock after 3 holiday shows this year!  I am so thankful to those who supported hand-made this year.   In one instance,  I had somebody tell me they decided to purchase an initial necklace from me rather than a high end big box store!   I was surprised and very appreciative all at the same time!  🙂   With hand-made, we are the designer, maker, marketer and shipper of our work… wearing all those hats can be time consuming!

P1450696
Sterling silver with Topaz

 Sometimes I think how nice it would be to have an assistant or someone to help me before shows.  This past November while talking to my neighbor, she asked if she “could help me out somehow”?   I of course said yes, so she came over and helped me prepare for the Rochester Museum and Science Center Holiday Baazar!  We had a great time getting things ready for the show as well as just chatting!  She used to work for Peoples Pottery, so has a background in marketing and consumer tips, all helpful for me as an artist!  It was great to hear her background and thoughts on selling handmade.  

At each show, I get ideas on what would look or work better.   Bed risers are great, I found some at Goodwill for $3 or so apiece and now put them under the legs of my table.  Having your table up higher means people don’t have to bend down to see your work!  I had numerous customers comment that they liked the height of my table at the last few shows I did this year, I guess it does help!   I also made box risers with pallet wood I collected from local farm supply stores.   I painted them white and now put them on my table top at shows to add height to my display.   Driftwood or ceramic tiles are also great ideas for displaying jewelry or  ornaments on.  Wood crates painted a bright color are another display option.  

Think about your table covering as well- does the color of your tablecloth work well with your products?  Be sure your tablecloth or runners cover all of your table and some of the sides too!  

 There are easy and inexpensive ways to add to your display if you keep your eyes open! 

P1440601
Setting up my display at the Rochester Museum and Science Center in November

Betsy~ Sunshine On Water ~ https://www.etsy.com/shop/SunshineOnWater?ref=pr_shop_more

2 thoughts on “Display ideas for Arts and Craft shows

    Rochester Artisans said:
    January 20, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    Love that you used pallet wood! I’ve seen your display in person and it always looks so clean & uncluttered. It’s as beautiful as your jewelry, Betsy!

      petunia106 responded:
      January 20, 2014 at 7:36 pm

      Thank you! I try to reuse things as much as possible… Goodwill or other second hand stores are great places to find things.

Leave a Reply

