Opening Night of Rochester area art exhibit

Posted on

P1440628

I haven’t had a piece of my artwork in a juried art exhibit since 2005 when I was at the State University of Brockport!  Now, years later this drawing of mine was accepted in a exhibit hosted by the University of Rochester called “Impact.”   Pretty exciting!!  I have had artwork of mine in various exhibits around the area over the past year but never a juried exhibit!  The fact that mine was selected for this exhibit is quite an honor and I am looking forward to the opening gala this evening!

My drawing is pencil and ink on paper, the title is “More Water, Please?”  I was inspired by the theme of this exhibit and this piece of mine seemed like a good fit… so I applied and was accepted!  The subject of the faucet reminded me that my family is lucky to have running water…it is a luxury we are fortunate enough to have!  When my kids ask me for a drink of water on a hot day, I simply turn the faucet on and fill a cup of cold water for them…. this isn’t the case for everyone in our world.   I am thankful for what we have and at the holidays it makes me appreciate that even more.

The top photo captured my son and I on the day we went to drop off my framed drawing at the Art Museum of Rochester!   To see more on this exhibit in Rochester, NY, you can check out this link:  https://www.facebook.com/URGlobeMedArtGala2013

P1440087
“More Water, Please?” by Betsy Murray

Have a great weekend!!  Betsy ~ Sunshine On Water~ https://www.facebook.com/SunOnWater?ref=hl

4 thoughts on “Opening Night of Rochester area art exhibit

    Rochester Artisans said:
    December 6, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    Congratulations, Betsy! Very nice.

      petunia106 responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:50 pm

      Thank you, excited to be part of this exhibit and looking forward to seeing the other pieces there!

    Amanda Rose (@SewMuchToSay) said:
    December 6, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

