Opossum in our neighborhood?

Posted on Updated on

My husband saw an opossum go under our deck last night when he went out to get wood for the woodstove.  Of course now I’m looking them up on Google!  I find it somewhat interesting that they have opposable thumbs on their hind feet & are the only marsupial in N. America but that doesn’t mean I want it living in such close vicinity! 
We live in a village and have a cat that goes outside during the day and evening, so I am somewhat surprised an opossum would be so near!!?  There are a lot of established trees and bushes in our neighborhood though so lots of hiding space for them I suppose!  Now to take the front off the deck and see what OR who is in there!!!
This is an interesting website on opossums if you want to check it out!!!
Happy Friday!!!
Betsy~ Sunshine On Water
3 thoughts on “Opossum in our neighborhood?

    Rochester Artisans said:
    November 15, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    Our dog cornered an opposum under our deck once. They are butt-ugly! Those claws, those teeth, that rat-like tail! We were finally able to get Reggi inside and keep her there until the opposum quit playing possum and went away (it took hours and hours). I guess it was scared so I did feel a little bit bad for it.

    petunia106 responded:
    November 15, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    Oh my thanks for sharing!! My husband it was UGLY too! He also said it was relatively small. I’d never think an opposum would live near here but I guess so?! I read they can play dead like that for awhile, sounds like it’s true from what you said! Now we need to take the lattice off and see what or who is under there- that’ll be my husbands job! Between our cat catching mice & chipmunks this is all we need! 🙂

    Charlene said:
    November 17, 2013 at 12:50 am

    we have opossums in our neighborhood too, I don’t worry about them too much. My dogs bark at them on the fence, the opossum hisses, I bring the dogs in, the opossum goes away. They are really more afraid of you, not to worry.

Leave a Reply

