A Great Opportunity led to a little Appreciation

Posted on Updated on

I recently participated in Fairport Canal Days, an outdoor 2-day show in Upstate New York.  Fairport is a beautiful town nestled along the Erie Canal near Rochester, NY.   It’s funny, I live 10 minutes away and rarely go there!  I decided to give it a try…a 2-day show that is!  What a great experience, Main Street closes for the day and people come out to enjoy all the village and vendors have to offer (that includes Kettlecorn and pink cotton candy)!  The opportunity was wonderful & stressful all at the same time but one encounter for a custom order lead me to appreciate the village of Fairport a bit more!

The Encounter:

During the show, I had someone request a special order necklace for his wife.  The couple had stopped at my booth the day before, they saw my work and the wife had admired the birthstone necklaces I had.  Among all the people, the torrential rain and gusts of wind, I vaguely remembered them!   The second day of the show,  the husband stopped by my booth. As I was speaking with him about the necklace, his phone rang and sure enough it was his wife!  It was a surprise gift, he was careful not to spill the beans to her!

 His Order:

One of my hand-made sterling silver heart pendants with glass beads representing birthstones for his two children… their birthdays in April and September.  April’s stone color is crystal for a diamond and September is blue for the Sapphire.   “Yes… I can make it for you,” I said!

The Finished Product:

A hand-formed heart and jump ring made with shiny .925 Sterling Silver!  I formed connection pieces for the glass birthstone beads to attach to the heart with and silver soldered them so they could move freely on the heart but not come off if pulled.  I also silver soldered the jump ring closed so it wouldn’t come apart if pulled by little hands!  I put this one-of-a-kind pendant on a chain and yes, it was done!  Ready to wear with the little birthstones for April and September!

P1380836
Hand-made Birthstone pendant
by Betsy Murray

The Delivery:

Since the man who ordered the necklace owned a business in Fairport, I decided to drop it off there.  My son and I went bright & early one morning… and hand-delivered the necklace to him!  He was pleased with the results, I was pleased with the opportunity!

The Appreciation!:

After dropping off the necklace, I decided to walk around with my son.  He thought that was a good idea, especially when he heard the mention of gelato or as I put it in 3 year old terms… “it’s sort of like ice cream!”  As we ate our “sort of like ice cream” gelato, we talked about the 3 different flavors the lady gave us, we decided we both liked Pistachio best!  The little green and blue spoons were a huge hit and of course, he took them with him!  We walked along the bridge over the Erie Canal, then found “little stairs” that were alongside the bridge, too cool NOT to walk down!  As we walked, my son was like a little commentator… he took everything in from the ducks, “are they moms or dads?”, to the boats, “look at that TINY boat” meanwhile the owner is sitting right next to the “tiny” boat, to the work going on across the canal, “what are they making?”  While he talked, I realized how much we overlook as adults!  I also realized how cool this village is and how much it has to offer.  I guess you can say it all started from that custom order necklace!

P1360525Check out my other work on my Facebook page, Sunshine On Water, at https://www.facebook.com/SunOnWater?ref=hl

Betsy Murray- Sunshine On Water

2 thoughts on “A Great Opportunity led to a little Appreciation

    lynns2hands said:
    June 25, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    Thank you. Your instructions and pictures made it very easy to follow. Sterling earring hooks are so expensive and you’re limited
    In your design – I like to add a matching bead to the actual hook , so this is perfect for my needs!

      petunia106 responded:
      June 25, 2013 at 6:32 pm

      Glad to my blog was helpful to you with your work!
      Betsy
      Sunshine On Water

Leave a Reply

