Making Earring Hooks!

Posted on Updated on

When I began making jewelry, I used store-bought earring hooks… It was fine but once I started using metal as my main material, I thought about making my own earring hooks!  “Since I am working with metal, I should be able to make my own” was my thought!

People often ask how I started working with metal or how did I learn to silver solder?  I have some background in metal.  I was fortunate enough to have taken a Metal & Jewelry class one semester while at SUNY College at Brockport studying art. It was a great class & we had a wonderful instructor!  I learned a lot about working with metal but one thing we didn’t learn, was how to make earring hooks!  As far as that goes, I taught myself!  It takes practice and some patience but for my work, I feel it is worth it.

If you’re looking for a more cohesive design or just want to make your own earring hooks, check out my photos.  I recommend using 18 or 20 Gauge wire.   Both are a medium gauge.

For jewelry making purposes, wire often comes in a range of gauges from 10 to 28Gauge.

**The smaller the gauge, the thicker the wire, the higher the gauge, the thinner the wire**

Material and Tools:

P1380928
I used 20 Gauge Sterling Silver wire for these earrings
P1380929
Bail Making Pliers, a good quality pair is worth it and found at hobby shops.
P1380932
There are various sizes of these pliers.. the size is at the top left of this picture. These are 6 by 8.5mm. The size refers to the diameter of the two different cylinders on the pliers.
P1380933
Wire Cutters & Needle Nose Pliers
  • First step is to measure the length of your desired wire, about 1 3/4″ is a good length to avoid wasting metal.

P1380936 P1380937

  • Then cut two pieces the same length using your wire cutters.

P1380938 P1380939

  • Next using your Bail Making Pliers, curve both pieces around one cylinder of the Bail Making Pliers to create a U shape.  It’s ok if one side is shorter than the other!

P1380943 P1380944

  • Now using fine grit Metal Sandpaper, sand the ends of both pieces smooth.  If you have a tumbler you can use that too.  Then using your Needle Nose Pliers, form a small circle on the shorter side of the U to create an attachment place (for where you’ll hang your earring design from later on).

P1380946 P1380947

  • Using your Bail Making pliers you can create a slight curve to the other side of your earrings where they go thru the ear… This helps keep them in place when you wear them.  **This step is  isn’t necessary to do, just personal preference.**

P1380950

  • Now… you have two earring hooks, for 1 pair of earrings!  You can make more than one pair at a time as I often do.

There are various styles of earring hooks but this is the most common and useful in most designs!  Go practice and have fun!

P1380953 P1380958

  • I’ve hand-formed and hammered these sterling silver earrings and hooks for a classic design!
 
P1380709

Betsy Murray  ~Sunshine On Water~

You can find more of my work on my Facebook page and on my etsy shop at the link below….

https://www.etsy.com/shop/SunshineOnWater?ref=pr_shop_more

Leave a Reply

