The Art of balancing kids and a small business

Posted on Updated on

P1250050

For a year now I have been working towards doing something for myself- other than taking care of my kids that is!!  WELL, my friends, that is definitely a challenge!  Rather than get a job outside of the home, I thought I would put to use the skills I learned in school while studying art  at SUNY College at Brockport!  That would mean I’d get to be home with my kids, help my daughter with her homework, make dinner, do laundry, all the while be working on making my art and jewelry from home!!  AHHH, that sounds so easy right?!!   Easy, in a perfect world (or a movie) maybe- my home would be full of Pintrest projects displayed in wonderous perfection with amazing tablescapes and spotless counters!  In all reality, my kids are kids and I am just a mom trying to keep them happy and thriving, all the while trying to do the same for myself!

I just finished reading a book I couldn’t put down about life in the Arizona Territory in the late 1800’s.  It is ironic how life of the leading character is so similar to mine  in 2013!  She is a hardworking mom who makes hand-made soap.  She orders her own materials, makes and creates her own unique soaps using fragrance and colors, packages it herself and transports it to town!   Over the years, how similar life is today for those making hand-made products!  I am busy making breakfast, doing laundry, playing with my kids, keeping them from arguing with each other over the same toy of which neither of them really needs or wants, yet all the while ordering materials for my jewelry, making my designs, shipping orders and keeping up with social media so others will SEE my designs!!  YES, it is a whirlwind… and as much as I love my kids, I also love doing something that allows me to learn!

I think it is easy to get caught up in the daily needs of kids lives when being a mom… and that is ok!!  They are only little for so long and each moment is one-of-a-kind!  As I work on my hand-made metalwork designs, I see my kids growing each day!  I try to keep up with my etsy.com shop- Sunshine On Water- but the main reason I have a small number of things in my shop is inventory!  I have a rather small inventory so most of what I make, I need to bring to shows.  That means I don’t have much left for my etsy shop.  I have begun to get ready for my first 2-day outdoor show, which means variety and inventory!

I keep working, as a mom and jewelry designer, both of which make me happy!  I order my materials and make custom orders, which I love to do!  I order most of my materials from a place in New Mexico, I like to support small business in the USA and Thunderbird Supply is just that!  Take a look at my etsy shop- Sunshine On Water- the link is… http://www.etsy.com/shop/SunshineOnWater?ref=pr_shop_more

P1360525
My metalwork designs can be found on my etsy shop or Facebook at Sunshine On Water

Each day is new adventure and of course a balancing act of keeping everyone happy!

Over the course of time, I guess the basic things in life haven’t changed all that much… and life continues on!

P1360489
Fun in the sun (and sand)!
3 thoughts on “The Art of balancing kids and a small business

    stitchplay said:
    May 9, 2013 at 12:50 am

    Yes, I am very familiar with the struggle to find balance. I have not found it yet, but I have learned to be more gracious to myself when the balance doesn’t happen.

    petunia106 responded:
    May 10, 2013 at 6:04 pm

    Very true!! 🙂

    underatopazsky said:
    May 12, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    Absolutely! I think it does become easier as the children get older though. Well, at least the fights over toys become sulks over the TV remote…!

Leave a Reply

