For the love of moms!

Posted on

My mom, sister and I last summer on our weekend away.
My mom, sister and I last summer on our weekend away!

Unfortunatly, this week has been a wash for me as far as working on any jewelry, art or listing anything new on etsy- http://www.etsy.com/shop/SunshineOnWater… Being down and out with this cold and/or flu is just plain tiring!!

Weeks like this make me think of one thing though… my mom! I love my mom and am so glad to have her close by to help me, bring me chicken soup and take care of the kids for me. Some days she calls me at least 5 times and I usually know before the phone rings that it’s her. But in reality I am just glad we are close. My neighbor sadly lost her mom this summer and the one thing she told me was how much she “misses being able to pick up the phone and call her mom”… I think about that once in awhile and remind myself how thankful I am to have such an amazing mom!
For the past few years my mom, sister and I go away one weekend a summer, it is our getaway. No kids, husbands, laundry or work, it’s just us and time spent together. The idea came about after hearing about the Sister’s Weekend that my mother-in-law and her 2 sisters take once a year. I thought it was a great idea, so initiated the idea with my mom and sister! It has become a tradition and one we look forward to each year! Eech year we take a turn to pick the destination, this year it’s my turn! Out of the three of us, I am the adventurer, I love new locations, while my mom and sister are more comfortable in familiar locations. It really doesn’t matter where we go though, wherever it is, we’ll have fun!

2 thoughts on “For the love of moms!

    Aunt Carol said:
    February 23, 2013 at 3:00 pm

    Beautiful, Betsy!

      petunia106 responded:
      February 23, 2013 at 3:05 pm

      Thank you! You moms do so much for us and although we don’t always say it, we appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

