To paint…

Posted on Updated on

Colors of 2013 New look, now relax!Now finished..In progress...

For the past few weeks I’ve thought about painting our living room… those of you who know me, I LOVE to paint rooms in our house!  I won’t let my husband touch a paint roller because he rushes & wants to get it done in the quickest, most efficient means possible!  On the other hand, I am a perfectionist when it comes to painting.

When I get the thought in my head to paint a room, it usually happens within 2 weeks of me thinking about it!!  In the past, I would go to the paint store, get a bunch of swatches, bring them home & analize them like crazy! You know, you just keep switching the swatch around on the wall and thinking you may have some miraculous vision and the right color will appear?!  The past few times I painted a room, I avoided this stratagy because I know it drives me nuts!   Picking a room color is tough because there are SO many choices and they all look so similar when you’re in the paint section!  There are about 30 different options of “white”, probably more!  Overwhelming for most people, including me.

The room I was painting was dusty yellow, it’s fairly big & it faces North (so it doesn’t get a ton of afternoon light).  I didn’t want to get new furniture, what’s in the room is red and brown tones… I thought a color in the taupe family would be good.  Then it went like this…. The dreaded trip to the paint store… my son & I get to the store (Hadlock’s which sells Benjamin Moore paint) we get out of the car, walk up to the door, I see a picture on the door of a bedroom painted pretty colors, we walk in the store & I ask the man at the counter “Excuse me, what color is that on the ceiling in that picture?”, he says “let me look”, finds out it is Baja Dunes and hands me the swatch.  He DID give me another color choice for a 2nd option but yikes, this was throwing too many choices into the mix!!  I took the 1 swatch home, waited a few days, drove back to the store, got 1 gallon & 1 qt. of Baja Dunes & painted the room the next day!

As I was painting, I did get a little nervous about the color, probably because my kids were at my heels while my husband avoided this project like the plauge and was outside splitting wood!

I took faith in the fact that Baja Dunes is one the Most Inspiring Colors of 2013 according to someone (whoever it is, I don’t know) that comes up with the Color Trends of the year!  I figured they must know what looks good! 🙂

It’s finished now, curtains & pictures are back up.   In the end, the room is what I envisioned…. now to relax!

6 thoughts on “To paint…

    erin gursslin said:
    January 21, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    Great color choice! My kitchen is painted a similar color 😉

    Lauren said:
    January 22, 2013 at 12:23 am

    I love the new color! My”go to”favorite is sandstone cove by behr.

      petunia106 responded:
      January 22, 2013 at 12:53 am

      I thought you’d like it!! 🙂

    Carol said:
    January 25, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    Great color. I used to love painting…and wallpapering…now I get help from Larry more than ever!

    Rochester Artisans said:
    February 4, 2013 at 2:37 am

    Looks great – very inviting!

      petunia106 responded:
      February 4, 2013 at 3:09 am

      Thanks! I’m really happy with it!

Leave a Reply

